Single of the Week: Thirst by Mt Doubt

by thethreepennyguignol

As summer draws to a close, and music blogs all over the country have to stop using “Song of the summer!” as a selling point for every track they cover, it’s time for a different breed of single. The kind you can listen to while your stomping around kicking puddles in a big coat because you never know when the weather’s going to turn. A song of the Autumn, if you like. And I think I have just the thing-

This is Thirst, a fabulous little single from Edinburgh-based group Mt Doubt, and I think I might be in love with it. It’s got a rich, decadent quality, with a full, layered backing track that neatly sidesteps self-indulgence. Thirst is the kind of thing you could see being played over the ending credits in an indie romcom, but in the best way that I can invoke that in your imagination. It’s a distinctive new track from the two-year-old group, and I’ll be keeping an eye on their future appropriately-seasonal releases. As, of course, should you.

