Introducing: Heather Powell

by thethreepennyguignol

Running this blog, I get a lot of indie music, a lot of pop, a lot of guitar-driven rock. And it’s not that I don’t enjoy that kind of music; far from it, it’s what I spend most of my spare time listening to. But that’s not to say that getting something a little bit different in my inbox will ever go amiss. So when I got wind of a new artist in the form of Heather Powell, a theatre degree graduate with seven years in the army behind her, something piqued my interest.

I’ve been listening to her debut album, A Haze of Grays and Blue, most of today, and I’ve got to admit there’s something hear that’s a little bit addictive. I love that the album sidesteps neutering down the music into nothing but ambience, which is common with so many vocalists, and allows a distinct sense of style and a focus on genre to burn through. Sure, this are tracks that definitely bring out the best of her alternately smoky, occasionally angelic, but constantly memorable voice, but the music is powerful too. While the power ballad is sensibly avoided in favour of a focus on Powell’s enchanting vocal dexterity, there is plenty of power here. There are hints of swing, dashes of blues, maybe even a few nods to the showtunes that her theatre degree might well have introduced her to, tinged with a sepia-toned romance that pulls the album together. Rich, decadent and totally absorbing, A Haze of Grays and Blue is much more defined than that title might lead you to believe.

