Single of the Week: He Was a Man by Kings of the Brushwood Thicket

by thethreepennyguignol

As soon as I spotted the words “Bowie-esque” in the promo email for this track, I knew I was going to be covering it. Fresh from the pen of Bruce Erik Brauer, whose previous projects include a stint with Dog Society, He Was a Man suddenly had quite a lot to live up to- and I’m pleased to say that it did.

I really appreciate (and have recently been getting into more) artists who can pull off the really stripped-back sound. Even more impressive are the musicians who can find nuance in that sound, as so many times in just winds up sounding like someone looking for a spare street corner and a hat to catch change in. But Brauer’s work here sounds like it was written for the studio, a clean, crisp, clear, and curiously melancholy number that does indeed echo some of Bowie’s less chunky tracks, as well as pulling to mind a few more recent artists like The Libertines (and, coming from me, that’s a damn big compliment). You can catch more of Kings of the Brushwood Thicket on their upcoming album, The Lies You Leave Behind, due out May 5th.

