Single Review: Lose You by Marc 7

by thethreepennyguignol

If that name sounds familiar to you, it’s because Marc 7 sprang forth from the loins of the similarly numerically titled Jurassic 5, punching out the sort of hip-hop that defines the term “feel-good beats” (in a good way). And this is the new single, from his new album, When Sounds Attack Volume 1, a follow-up to his surprisingly hard-hitting 2014 debut, Food Clothing & Shelter. And I’m pretty pumped about it.

I’m kind of a sucker for rap that makes me go “fuck, yeah”. The kind of tracks I listen to and wish that I’d written myself. Sharp, and two-piece-suit-smart, Lose You manages to pull off the kind of labyrinthine rhyme structures and brilliant turns of phrase that set Marc 7 apart from the hundreds of group rappers who’ve set off on similar solo careers. The difference being that his rapping is just the centrepiece of his music, not the entire track itself. A juxtaposed, soulful hook lays in the background of the languid-moving track, giving Marc the chance to show off the fact that he can put a damn song together, as well as writing lyrics that most of us would take eight years to come up with the outline for. Whatever it is about this track- and I’m not sure I can put my finger on it- it’s cool as all hell, and just what your Saturday night needs right now.

