Single of the Week: Modzilla by Scott Weiland and the Wildabouts

by thethreepennyguignol

Happy new February, everybody- I hope that, unlike me, you remembered when your mum’s birthday was and that Valentine’s day existed. And even if you didn’t, console yourself with some old-school rock and roll (every”o” in those words is to be pronounced as an “awwww”) courtesy of Scott Weiland and the Wildabouts.

Maybe it’s because I’ve been listening to quite a lot of angsty, self-involved music lately, but I’ve really missed hearing songs which are just unapologetically cool. Pulling “cool” off as a musical statement is difficult, because it relies entirely on being able to convince your audience that you’re totally unaware how fucking good you sound. Weiland and company have pulled off a song that’s packed with really grungy, get-your-teeth-into-them guitar riffs and punchy vocals that permeate the room like cigarette smoke. Smart, classic, and kind of sexy (hey, he’s a rock frontman, what am I supposed to do about it?), Modzilla my jam this Sunday night.

