Single Review: Shudder to Think by Static in Verona

by thethreepennyguignol

Occasionally, musicians find me on Twitter and ask me to check out their music. I always do; it’s just not always that I feel the need to share it with you guys. Then something like this pops onto my Twitter feed and I can’t ignore it any longer.

Look, I’ve always had a bit of a hard-on for tracks with amazing hooks and some old-fashioned pop-rock sensibilities. It’s not perfect- it is a rough cut, after all- but it’s a superbly exciting nod to what Static in Verona’s next album (due out April 2015) could be like. It’s packed wall-to-wall with shameless sing-a-long moments, intercut with that carefully picked-out guitar line and seemingly in-built knowledge as to what makes pop-rock go from generic to brash, intelligent, and witty. The delivery of the title line alone is worth the price of admission.

